Celebrating Shrove Tuesday

OK so today at our church was the celebration of Shrove Tuesday and per the tradition we had a pancake dinner. Why a pancake dinner you ask, well here you go…

Pancakes are associated with the day preceding Lent because they were a way to use up rich foods such as eggs, milk, and sugar, before the fasting season of the 40 days of Lent. The liturgical fasting emphasized eating plainer food and refraining from food that would give pleasure: in many cultures, this means no meat, dairy products, or eggs.

So the dinner started at 5:30 and went to 7:00. The girls were good M1 collected the money and M2 collected dirty service ware for me to wash. Yes I manned the dishwasher. For an hour and a half all I did was wash, dry, and put away. The cooks alternated through, the servers alternated through but I did not. Now don’t get me wrong I have no issues but suddenly at the end of the night, the woman in charge looked at me and said “Are you kidding I forgot to rotate you out? Why didn’t you say something?” I assured her I did not care and since the kids were being good no worries.

The youth leader came in to see me and she complimented me on how good the kids were. She said they were very well behaved they were and in a fleet moment I was jealous, I mean why were they good for her? Why did they listen to her? I know I know that is selfish but sometimes it is frustrating that they know how to act but refuse at home. Yes I also know it is better they do it there then fall apart out there but still, I get jealous.

I call to the kids and remember to thank them for behaving as we head out. They both say they had a really good time and I point out how helping out does make you feel better and they agreed. We head home and I realize that I really am proud of both of them. They both do have the capacity to be good so that is ultimately what matters most.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

