What Song Represents Your Day?

I love music and relate to it on so many levels. Yesterday I was driving home and I heard the song “Chandelier” by Sia, now I love the song but after the past couple of days I really related to the lyrics.

I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier
I’m gonna live like tomorrow doesn’t exist
Like it doesn’t exist
I’m gonna fly like a bird through the night, feel my tears as they dry
I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier

But I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down, won’t open my eyes
Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight
Help me, I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down, won’t open my eyes
Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight
On for tonight

I know a lot of parents feel this way at times and no unlike most of the other lyrics I will not be drinking to try to solve my situation. But I got to thinking right now, at this exact moment, how many other parents of special needs children are feeling just like this. Feeling like you are barely hanging on at times and knowing it is better not to think of tomorrow for fear of more of the same. I tell some of my clients “one day at a time” and tonight I have to tell myself that because things got that hectic.

No nothing really happened, nothing is really wrong. It just seems like this week a lot of people I work with and the others who I teach remind me how chaotic my life must be. Yes it is, but for some reason this week I am feeling like it is somehow out of control when in reality it is not. The holidays are approaching and I dread Christmas because of my past, not because of the kids and I am struggling as I do yearly, to make good memories for my kids. So in perspective it is a cumulative effect and I do know it will pass. But now right now as the kids are downstairs playing instead of putting on pajamas like I asked I really feel like I am holding on for dear life.

I was wiped yesterday when I went to Tae Kwon Do and the other Mom of a special needs son looked at me and commented I looked beat was I ok. I managed a smile and said “Yeah but I am not really pro-parenting now” She laughed and said she gets it and I bet she does. Yep just one of those days for sure.

Oh well off I go to yet again state pajamas have to go on, brush teeth, tuck in and kiss a bunch of little heads. Tomorrow might not exist but if it does then “God willing and the creek don’t rise” I will have enough of whatever I need to continue to hang on. Hopefully tomorrow it will not be for dear life though.

What song can you relate too when it comes to parenting your kids?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

