Apple Picking Take Two

Little Man and M1 start picking
Little Man and M1 start picking

Today was the church outing. The outing was fun but we all got lost. The first van went to the wrong orchard. My van arrived on location. The third van containing the Rector and his wife got stuck for an hour in traffic. It was not really funny but considering how this got planned I could not be too surprised. Eventually the Rector got there and we met up but no one had the first van’s number so she went somewhere else.

Everyone looking to see the worm hole that Little Man had found in an apple
Everyone looking to see the worm hole that Little Man had found in an apple

It was a beautiful day and I got to thinking how blessed I really am. Then my sister called and I got a free laugh. I put her on speaker so all the kids could talk and they were telling her what apples we were picking. My sister mistakenly said out loud “Well there is no difference in apples right?” The kids laughed out loud at her and she sounded miff so I had to explain that we are in apple country and yes there IS a difference between Macoun, Red Delicious, Pinowa, Ambrosia’s and 20 ounces. Per usual my sister then laughed at me and said I was a nerd.  Yep she is in her 30s and I am in my 40s and she continues to call me the nerd. Ah well my kids do it too!!!

The apple inspector hard at work.
The apple inspector hard at work.

We packed up and started the trek home. The kids begged me to make the caramel apple crumble again and laughed when I proposed instead I make an apple cake. Little Man said there was no such thing and I assured him there was. I reminded them we have to save some because we are making apple sauce in two weeks and so the excitement was renewed.

Pinowa apples
Pinowa apples
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

