Camping Fun

Our weekend chateau
Our weekend chateau

Little Man and Little Bit had never been camping before so this was going to be it. We packed everything into the Grand Caravan and drove a whole 20 minutes over the  mountain to the camp site close to home. I have camped with kids before and if either were going to have a melt down I wanted to be close to home. So we unpack the equipment and the endless number of prompts begin.

The s'more making fire
The s’more making fire

The open fire was a real danger and controlling a two year old around it proved to be exciting. I had M1 contain her while we roasted the marshmallows and made s’mores. The had not had them before so what a mess was made!!! There was chocolate and marshmallow every where down shirts in hair….OMG….what fun!!! I have some awesome photos but for privacy I cannot post them. Clean up at bedtime was a sticky affair but well worth it to have four very tired and very full kids. The next morning Little Man was up at 5:14 and shortly behind him M2. I took them for a walk with Mocha our dog so at least two could sleep.

The mist in the morning on the lake as we walked.
The mist in the morning on the lake as we walked.

We hiked and hiked all day to yes get them super tired. The kids ran, Mocha ran and Mom….well she took pictures

Kids walking on the dam and having a lot of fun.
Kids walking on the dam and having a lot of fun.
Little Bit stops to pick the clovers
Little Bit stops to pick the clovers

My BFF joined us later that night and we again had dinner and s’mores. The kids were tired again so they went to bed at 7pm. Yep sun was not even down yet and the kids were out!! While my BFF slept in another tent in the middle of the night I suddenly got major cramping in my legs. Now I have PTSD from my time in Iraq and sometimes flashbacks are started with muscles spasms so I assumed that I was having a flashback so I got my flashlight and thought let me go out and clear my head a bit. When the light came on I discovered the source of the cramping:

M2 in the blue/green blanket, Mocha and Little Bit in the pink.
M2 in the blue/green blanket, Mocha and Little Bit in the pink.

Yes my bag is the orange one and yes that is where I pulled my feet and legs out of to stand up. No wonder I was cramped good golly!!!! Yes it is a two room tent too so I am not sure why on earth all of this was on my legs and feet meanwhile in the second room M1 and Little Man lay sprawled out….sigh….so jealous

So overall it went fairly well. A whole lot of work but hopefully a whole lot of good memories too.

The sunset over the lake on Saturday
The sunset over the lake on Saturday
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

